D-dimers and its different clinical applications

July 6, 2022 [EDT: 11:00 AM, CEST: 5:00 PM, Beijing 11:00 PM]

DDimers is a determination that has several applications. It's classic use is to rule out thrombosis and can be also used to predict its recurrence.

D-Dimer (DD) is a molecule that comes from the degradation of stabilized fibrin. Its presence indicates fibrinolysis secondary to the formation of a fibrin clot.

Therefore, it constitutes a specific marker of fibrinolytic activity in processes that produce excessive fibrin formation, even without being thrombotic.

In relation to cancer, it can be used to exclude thrombosis, also as predictor of venous thromboembolism, as prognosis of recurrence of thrombosis, and as prognostic factor for the disease.

 

This webinar comprises of three following presentations of 20 min each followed by 20 min of panel discussion at the end. 

Talk 1: DDIMERS AND THROMBOSIS [Dr. Gloria Ramos]

Talk 2: DDIMERS AND CANCER IN PEDIATRICS [Prof. Yudiana Montenegro]

Talk 3: DDIMERS AND COVID 19 [Dr. Alejandro Morales de la Vega]

 

Simultaneous Spanish translation will be available.

 

Click here to convert to your time-zone.

 

Presenters:

Ana Lena

Chair/Moderator
IFCC EB Regional Representative COLABIOCLI, Uruguay

Gloria Ramos

Reference Laboratory in Hemostasis and Hematology H&H lab. SAS, Colombia

Yudiana Montenegro

Children Hospital Dr José Renán Esquivel, Panama

Alejandro Morales de la Vega

Laboratorios LICON, S. A., Mexico

 

Registration

https://www.workcast.com/register?cpak=3349197266818257